Carved

  
I carved my name among the whispering pines

Etched each letter with a knife

Too sharp for me to hold

I scraped away the layers of this tree

Watching the letters take shape

Witnessed the blood that spilled 
Across the bark

As I used all the strength left

Of a shattered heart

Each letter held a syllable

My lips could not speak

As memories

 
Slipped down my cheeks

I rubbed my fingers across the grain

Where the wood stood

Stained in my deed

For this place will be the only 
Chance 

something bigger than promises

Could actually hold onto me”

@inkwellwriter5

9 thoughts on “Carved

Leave a Reply

